Go directly to main content

View more photos from Spring Convocation.

IU Kokomo faculty, staff, recognized for research, service

January 28, 2019

KOKOMO, Ind. –  Indiana University Kokomo honored its faculty and staff for achievements in scholarship and years of service at the annual Spring Convocation Friday (January 25). 

Lance Mason, assistant professor of education, received the Distinguished Research and Creative Activity Award. 

Mark Canada, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, commended Mason for his “prolific volume of scholarship” which includes 11 peer reviewed journal articles and five book chapters in the last five years. 

“In recognition of his excellent work, we deem him clearly and unanimously worthy of this research award,” Canada said. 

Mason teaches classes in social studies and the social foundations of education. His research revolves around the philosopher and education reformer John Dewey, his arguments for democratic education, and, most recently, adaptations of it for teaching media literacy in the digital age. 

He’s also guest edited a special issue of the Journal of Media Literacy Education, served 3 years as an editor of Philosophical Studies in Education, and has presented at 22 conferences. 

He earned a Ph.D. from Penn State University, and was a high school teacher in the Detroit Public Schools for five years. 

Mason called the award a great honor, and said his research enhances his teaching. 

“I continually bring my research into the classroom,” he said. “It animates the topics we talk about in media in society.” 

More than 30 faculty and staff members were honored for 485 combined years of experience at IU. 

Dave Hawkins, special projects coordinator for physical facilities; Cheryl Small, shipping and receiving for physical facilities; and Kristen Snoddy, senior lecturer in English, were honored for 30 years of service. 

Those recognized for 25 years of service were Vivian Chase, Robert Gardner, Chad Gillem, Tara Scott, and Susan Wilson. 

Receiving accolades for 20 years were Sandy Cavazos, Dawn Davis, and Julie Saam. 

Those honored for 15 years were Kim Haggard, Carrie Kinsey, Candy Miller, Kathleen Mills, Heidi Sebastian, and Craig Swoverland. 

Ten-year award recipients were Lesley Connolly, Kelli Keener, Dana Larason, Marie Lindskoog, April Mouser, Bev Ringeisen, Stacey Rosales, Cheryl Schlemmer, and Angie Siders. 

Those honored for five years were Emily Doran, Christina Fivecoate, Ben Liechty, Alisha Referda, Danielle Runda, and Stephanie Tinkel. 

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 01/28/2019