Go directly to main content

View more photos of the event.

Nursing students honored in traditional ceremony

December 17, 2018

KOKOMO, Ind. –  The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing honored nearly 80 students for completing the prestigious program, at the traditional recognition ceremony Thursday, December 13.

Faculty and staff welcomed 34 Bachelor of Science in Nursing graduates to the health care profession, while congratulating 15 nurses who earned the Master of Science in Nursing, and 28 who completed the R.N. to B.S.N. program.

Dean Susan Hendricks noted that the recognition ceremony is an important rite of passage for the students and those who have supported them while they were achieving their dreams.

“In the time the students have been in the nursing program, they have become like family to us here in the school, and the faculty and staff celebrate with each student,” she said. “Nursing school is a difficult journey. Completing this arduous task is most definitely something to celebrate, not only for our students, but also for family and friends who have played a very important role in their experience.” 

No matter if the students already have their career mapped out, or if they are still searching for their niche in the profession, Hendricks said, “most assuredly, they are prepared for what lies ahead in their path.”

The highlight of the ceremony is the traditional pinning. Each nurse crossed the Havens Auditorium stage to receive the pin specifically designed for the IU Kokomo School of Nursing, as family and friends cheered and applauded.

The ceremony ended with the recitation of the nursing pledge, a statement of the ethics and principals of the profession. 

Those participating completed degrees in December 2018, and are eligible to participate in Commencement in May 2019. They include:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing:

Amboy: Jessica Smith           

Elwood: Michaela Murphy

Frankfort: Cassondra Porter

Galveston: Kassidy Zeck        

Greentown: Audra Isaac

Indianapolis: Erica Cavanaugh

Kokomo: Megan Bauer, Anna Berger, Alexis Berghoff, Alexis Brickner, Hannah Donovan, Abigail Fleenor, Mallory Hunley, Haley Johnston, Adam Pickard, Ashley Plough, Emily Sandlin, Nathan Summers, Jennifer Weber

LaFontaine: Kristopher Working

Logansport: Mallory Rowe    

Marion: Kali Hawkins, Bailey Mansbarger, Stephanie Thompson

Noblesville: Kaitlin O’Donnell

Pennville: Trina Marks          

Peru: Kelsey Kimes

Rochester: Tierney Rentschler

Tipton: Lauren Moulder, Olivia Plake, Lindsey Maxey

Westfield: Mindy Meyer, Sierra Smith

West Lafayette: Alexandra Getz

Master of Science in Nursing

Elmhurst, Illinois: Katie Douglass

Fort Wayne: Laura Gault

Indianapolis: Megan Cawby  

Kokomo: Latifah Alenezi, Mohammed Alotaibi, Rakan Alrawili, Ibrahim Altuwayjiri, Kathleen Klute, Heidi Self

Lafayette: Ramonna Fratena, Karen Grammer, Renea Smith

Noblesville: Stacey Hancock 

Saudi Arabia: Nafeisah Al Baqer, Rabab Almushdg                 

R.N. to B.S.N.

Albany: Brenda Cross

Alexandria: Alyssa Hoover

Anderson: Caryn Davenport, Kristi Graves, Nikki Kennedy, Heather Uberto, Jennifer White

Cambridge City: Elizabeth Turner-Moistner

Carmel: Taylor Bell

Cincinnati, Ohio: Susan Modricker

Darlington: Eric Stone

Dunkirk: Taran Edwards

Fishers: Andres Hernandez

Hartford City: Timothy Williams

Indianapolis: Tamara Unland

Kokomo: Susan Skelton

Montpelier: Sherrie Chapman

Muncie: Brianna Roper, Brandi Swoboda

New Castle: Kellie King

New Ross: Nekisha Shahan

Noblesville: Cliff Meyer

Pendleton: Barbara Church

Portland: Sheila Bray, Abby Forthofer

Sheridan: Alina Masavage

Upland: Kendra Janney

Yorktown: Kyleigh Staton

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 12/17/2018