Go directly to main content

View a photo of the recipients.

Four receive full tuition as IU Kokomo Herbert Presidential Scholars

December 19, 2018

KOKOMO, Ind. –  Four future Cougars received full-tuition scholarships as Indiana University Kokomo’s Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholars for the Class of 2019.

Todd Gambill, vice chancellor for student affairs and enrollment management, presented the scholarships, valued at $32,000 apiece, at each recipient’s high school.

“The Herbert Scholarship is the most prestigious scholarship awarded by IU Kokomo,” he said, noting that in addition to full tuition, it also covers required fees, and provides a laptop and a stipend for overseas travel.

“We are very excited about the academic achievements of next year’s incoming class, headlined by these four outstanding scholars,” he said.

The four honorees are:

  • Bryce Hull, Carmel High School, who plans to study business;
  • Lia Roudebush, Noblesville High School, who plans to study business;
  • Casey Switzer, Taylor High School, who plans to study computer science; and
  • Rosie Wood, Heritage Christian High School, who plans to study biological and physical sciences.

The four honorees were chosen by a selection committee from among 46 students interviewed.

The Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholars Program offers Indiana’s top high school graduates a four-year renewable scholarship to IU. It was created by  IU President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert during his tenure as president, as the Hoosier Presidential Scholars program. The Board of Trustees renamed it in 2007, to honor Herbert’s commitment to recruiting and retaining talented young Hoosiers.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 12/19/2018