Go directly to main content

Education alumni to be honored as Teachers of Distinction

November 12, 2018

KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo recognizes its alumni who are making a difference in area schools, with the annual Teachers of Distinction awards. 

The School of Education, along with the IU Alumni Association Kokomo Region, will honor four recipients at a reception from 6 to 8 p.m. Monday, November 26, in the Kelley Student Center Room 130. The event is free and open to the public, with RSVPs due to Sharon Johnson at sclellan@iuk.edu or 765-455-9286 by Wednesday, November 14.

Dean Leah Nellis said the awards enhance the perception of the teaching profession, and provides encouragement for those doing the important work of educating children.

“These recognitions are an important part of lifting up educators, showing gratitude for the work they do in schools every day, and rewarding their dedication to the profession,” she said. “It’s an opportunity for those in our local school districts to recognize our alumni who are making a difference in the lives and learning of our students, and contributing to the profession of education in positive and meaningful ways.” 

A selection committee chose honorees from nominations submitted by school leaders and advisors. They include:

  • Kelly Tuberty, B.S. ‘95, a reading specialist in the Western School Corp.;
  • Amber Reed, B.S. ’93, M.S. ‘00, associate professor, Indiana Wesleyan University;
  • Nicole McDorman, B.S. ‘12, M.A. ’16, an English teacher at Central Middle School, Kokomo; and
  • Joshua Spencer, B.G.S. ‘13, Change 2 Education program 2016, a special education teacher at Maple Crest Middle School, Kokomo.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 11/12/2018