Go directly to main content

Faculty recognized for creative and scholarly work

September 17, 2018

KOKOMO, Ind. –  Indiana University Kokomo celebrated the accomplishments of more than 50 faculty, for their behind-the-scenes work in scholarship, creative work, and research — including scholarly pursuits that include students.

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke hosted the annual faculty scholarship reception, where she commended faculty for their excellent endeavors. She noted they give students the chance to experience more as they include them in their research. 

“At the end of the day, it is what happens in our classrooms that means everything to the students,” she said. “Students come here to study with, be mentored by, and partner with faculty. Our faculty continue to rise to that challenge, making our campus excellent in teaching, research, and service.”

Mark Canada, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, said a lot of the scholarly work faculty perform takes in labs, studios, and in the community, and isn’t noticed the way teaching and classroom work is.

“Our faculty are doing tremendously important work that doesn’t often get appreciated, because it takes place behind the scenes,” he said.

Accolades were given for publication of books and journal articles, conference presentations, and grants awarded, in areas including allied health sciences, business, education, humanities and social sciences, nursing, science, and libraries.

Faculty honored includes:

Division of Allied Health Sciences: Ghadah Alshuwaiyer, assistant professor of health sciences; Angela Coppola, assistant professor of health sciences; David Hancock, assistant professor of health sciences; Kim Mossburg, lecturer in nutritional science; Melinda Stanley, lecturer in health care management

School of Business: Steve Cox, professor of finance; Dmitriy Chulkov, professor of economics and management information systems; Josephine Dibie, lecturer in business; Robert Dibie, professor of public policy, public management, and environmental studies; Hyunkang Hur, assistant professor of public management; Mark Meng, assistant professor of hospitality and tourism; Mohammad Meybodi, professor of operations management; Kathy Parkison, professor of economics; Gloria Preece, director of the Master of Business Administration program, David Rink, professor of marketing; Adam Smith, assistant professor of management, Xiaoqiong (Crystal) Wang, assistant professor of finance

School of Education: Sarrah Grubb, assistant professor of education; Tara Kingsley, associate professor of education; Julie Saam, professor of education

School of Humanities and Social Sciences: Rachel Blumenthal, assistant professor of English; Todd Bradley, associate professor of political science; Mark Canada, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs; Paul Cook, associate professor of English; Chris Darr, professor of communication arts; Rosalyn Davis, clinical assistant professor of psychology;  Erik Deerly, associate professor of new media; Erin Doss, assistant professor of communication arts; Minda Douglas, associate professor of fine arts; Wendy Grice, lecturer in music; Michael Koerner, assistant professor of new media; Wayne Madsen, assistant professor of new media; Stephanie Medley-Rath, assistant professor of sociology; Jamie Oslawski-Lopez, acting assistant professor of sociology; JR Pico, senior lecturer in Spanish; Gregory Steel, associate professor of fine arts; Karla Stouse, senior lecturer in English and humanities; Nicole Weller, assistant professor of sociology; Eva White, professor of English; Yunjin Woo, assistant professor of fine arts

Library: Yan He, information literacy librarian; Angela Pusnik, digital user experience librarian; James Rodgers, technical services librarian

School of Nursing: Mary Bourke, assistant dean of graduate programs; Susan Hendricks, dean and professor of nursing; Tammy Ledbetter, assistant professor of nursing; April Mouser, assistant professor of nursing; Mary Steinke, nurse practitioner track director, assistant clinical professor

School of Sciences: Awny Alnusair, associate professor of informatics; Michael Finkler, professor of physiology; Kasem Kasem, professor of chemistry; Hisako Masuda, assistant professor of biochemistry; Patrick Motl, associate professor of physics; Amelia Tebbe, assistant professor of mathematics; Peter Tupa, lecturer in mathematics; Chen Zhong, assistant professor of informatics

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 09/17/2018