Go directly to main content

View more photos from the event.

Nurses of Distinction saluted by IU Kokomo

March 21, 2018

KOKOMO, Ind. —The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing celebrated its 50th anniversary by honoring five of its graduates with the inaugural Nurses of Distinction awards.

The School of Nursing, along with the IU Alumni Association Kokomo Region, recognized these outstanding alumnae with a March 20 reception, honoring them for making a difference in the nursing profession and in their communities. 

“Distinction is defined as excellence that sets someone apart from others,” said Interim Dean Mary Bourke. “Each of our award winners exemplifies that quality, and each is an exemplary model of a nurse. We are proud to honor them. As we commemorate our 50th anniversary, there is no better opportunity than to celebrate with our alumni, recognizing their outstanding professional efforts to lead from where they are.”

Keynote speaker Kimberly Harper, chief executive officer of the Indiana Center for Nursing, talked about the power of nursing with more than three million registered nurses nationwide, and how important it is for nurses to be informed and use their voices for the greater good of the profession.

Nurses of Distinction award winners were: 

• Sarah Hodapp-Bevington, B.S.N. ’03, is a neonatal intensive care unit nurse at Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health. She and her husband, Coley, started PCAT Ambulance, which serves the residents of North Central Indiana, and has responded to nationwide disasters.

• Sharmaine Ellison, A.S.N. ’87; B.S.N. ’00, is a certified surgery nurse at Community Howard Regional Health, and a current student in IU Kokomo’s Master of Science in Nursing program. She also serves as an IU Alumni Association executive council board member and as regional vice president of the IU Alumni Association Kokomo Region chapter.

• Margaret R. “Peggy,” Faulkner, A.S.N. ’78; B.S.N. ’07, was a house supervisor-administrative coordinator at Community Howard Regional Health before her retirement. In 2015, she initiated and developed the practices and procedures for the Nursing Honor Guard, serving north central Indiana by honoring fallen nurses and their families during their time of grief.

• Ruth Kain, A.S.N. ’95; B.S.N. ’00, is vice president of patient services and director of clinical operations at IU Health Saxony, Fishers; and is regional manager of emergency operations. She is currently earning a Doctor of Nursing Practice. 

• Jo Ellen Scott, A.S.N. ’74; B.S.N. ’94, is chief nursing officer and senior vice president of patient care services at IU Health Tipton Hospital, serves on the advisory board for IU Kokomo and Ivy Tech State College as a nursing representative, and helped establish the Domestic Violence Coalition in Tipton County. She was instrumental in creating the relationship between IU Health Tipton Hospital and IU Kokomo to allow students to engage in clinicals at the hospital.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 03/21/2018