Go directly to main content

Faculty, staff, honored for research, service

January 29, 2018

KOKOMO, Ind. —Indiana University Kokomo faculty and staff received accolades for research and years of service at the annual Spring Convocation Friday (January 23).

Mark Canada, vice chancellor for academic affairs, presented the faculty research award to David Hancock, assistant professor of allied health sciences, calling his work “an example to highlight and a path to follow.”

Hancock, who studies and publishes in areas including sports talent development, preparation of sports officials, and impact of age on sports performance, said he was honored to have his work recognized by his peers.

“As a young faculty member, it’s humbling to hear that my colleagues think I’m doing good work here, and to see that they find it valuable, ” said Hancock, who joined IU Kokomo in 2013.

Sara Deyo, chemistry lab supervisor, Mary Hansen, associate professor of mathematics, and Cheryl Little, physical plant accounts assistant, received accolades for 30 years. They were among 29 faculty and staff recognized for more than 450 combined years of experience at IU.

Twenty-five year honorees included Robert Helms, Nicole Houston, Ligaya McGovern, Kathy Parkison, and John Sarber.

Those commended for 20 years at IU Kokomo were Deborah Carlson, Michael Finkler, and Catherine Valcke. Zane Barber, Todd Bradley, Kelly Brown, and John Lynch received recognition for serving 15 years.

Ten-year award recipients were Leda Casey, Sarah Heath, Angela Heckman, Joann Kaiser, Joseph Keener, Keith Lindley, Patrick Motl, Yusuf Nur, Gregory Ogle, and Thomas Remender, and Those receiving five-year service awards included Todd Gambill, Daniel Gruss, Stanley Haynes, and Adam Svoboda.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 01/30/2018