Go directly to main content

Nursing students inducted into international honor society

May 5, 2017
KOKOMO, Ind. — The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing inducted 15 students into the Alpha chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

Amanda Leffler, assistant professor of nursing, said induction and membership is “a wonderful honor and privilege” in an organization with a long and distinguished history of providing leadership to the profession of nursing.

Sigma Theta Tau inductees

Nursing students inducted into Sigma Theta Tau.

“These distinguished students have worked hard to achieve this distinctive honor,” she said. “I congratulate each of them on a job well done.”

New members include Bachelor of Science in Nursing graduates Jessica Cartmel, Fishers; Judith Alanis-Guijosa and Shelley N. Martin, Frankfort; Alicia L. Sommers, Indianapolis; Harlee Phillips, Kokomo; Christopher A. Osborne, Marion; Sarah J. Herbst, Mexico; Amy E. Rutledge, Noblesville; Danielle L. Schmicker, Winamac; and Alecia N. Carlson, Zionsville; and R. N. to B.S.N. graduate Sherri A. Coon, Wingate. Master of Science in Nursing graduates Jennifer L. Gale, Colfax, Margaret R. Yeisley, Indianapolis; Samantha J. Fouts, Kokomo; and Felita Y. Wash-White, Nobleville also were inducted.

To be selected, students must meet rigorous standards, including a program grade point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, rank in the top 35 percent of the graduating class, and meet the expectation of academic integrity.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 05/05/2017