Go directly to main content

Heckman, Saam, Deerly, and Thorpe

IU Kokomo faculty earn promotion, tenure

May 11, 2017
KOKOMO, Ind. —  The Indiana University Board of Trustees approved promotions and tenure for faculty members on the Kokomo campus.

To achieve this honor, faculty are evaluated on their teaching, research and creative work, and service to the campus and community.

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke congratulated Julie Saam, Angela Heckman, Erik Deerly, and Angie Thorpe on their accomplishments.

“We are proud of these faculty members who have committed themselves to our students’ success, to research, and to creating innovative art,” she said. “Tenure and promotion at Indiana University is a great achievement, and reflects the excellence of our faculty.”

Those receiving promotions included:

• Julie Saam, professor of education. Saam joined the IU Kokomo faculty in 2001. She earned a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in secondary education from IU Southeast, New Albany; and a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction from IU Bloomington. A Carmel resident, she is assistant vice chancellor for academic affairs, and director of the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Assessment. She received the Trustees Teaching Award in 2006 and 2013, the Claude Rich Excellence in Teaching Award in 2008, and the P.A. Mack award in 2014. She is also a leader in the IU Faculty Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching (FACET).

• Angela Heckman, professor of nursing. She currently serves as the assistant dean for the R.N. to B.S.N. track in the School of Nursing. Heckman began her IU Kokomo career in 2002. She earned her Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree from Indiana Wesleyan University, a Master of Science in Nursing from Indiana University — Purdue University Indianapolis, and a Doctor of Nursing Practice from University of Indianapolis. She’s received the Indiana University Trustees Teaching Award and the Karen Cobb Award for Creative Teaching in Nursing. Heckman lives in Kokomo.

Those earning promotion and tenure included:
Erik Deerly, associate professor of new media: Deerly joined the IU Kokomo faculty in 2011. Since that time, his work has exhibited widely across the US and in Asia and Europe. He has earned a Bachelor of Music in Composition from Northern Illinois University, and a Master of Fine Arts in Interdisciplinary Arts & Media from Columbia College Chicago. A Kokomo resident, he received a New Frontiers of Creativity and Scholarship Grant in 2016.

Angie Thorpe, Associate Librarian: Thorpe began her IU Kokomo career in 2011. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Wisconsin–Madison and a Master of Library Science from Indiana University. A Noblesville resident, she is a 2015 graduate of the Institute for Research Design in Librarianship.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 05/11/2017