Go directly to main content

View more photos from the event

Communications students inducted into honorary

May 4, 2017
KOKOMO, Ind. — Fourteen Indiana University Kokomo students were chosen charter members of the campus’ new chapter of Lambda Pi Eta honorary for communications.

“We began the chapter to recognize our students for their hard work and dedication to academics,” said Erin Doss, assistant professor of communication arts. “Being a member provides opportunities for students to present at the National Communication Association annual conference, and is a great entry for a résumé or graduate school application.”

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke, who began her career teaching communication arts, was inducted as an honorary member.

The charter class includes Devon Burton, Crawfordsville; Reid Clingenpeel, Flora; Carolina Anaya Pico, Kelsey Bosworth, Katharine Calabro, Kathleen Chandler, Kaitlin Gebby, Tyler Lucas, and Seven Surack, Kokomo; Bailey Troutman, Lapel; Thomas Cassidy, Logansport; Paige Conley, Macy; Lauren Cain, Russiaville; and Karah Wray, Tipton.

To be selected, students must meet national criteria, including ranking within the highest 35 percent of one’s class in general scholarship, and having a minimum 3.25 grade point average in communication studies classes.

Lambda Pi Eta is the National Communication Association’s official honor society at four-year colleges and universities. IU Kokomo’s chapter is one of more than 450 nationwide. Its goals include recognizing and rewarding outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies, and to stimulate interest in the field of communication.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 05/04/2017