Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo honors Teachers of Distinction

February 24, 2017
KOKOMO, Ind. — A great teacher makes a huge impact on a child’s life.

Indiana University Kokomo’s School of Education honors five of its graduates who are making a difference in their classrooms each day, with its first-ever Teachers of Distinction awards.

“Many of us have fond memories of a teacher who inspired us to do our best, to achieve more than we thought possible, or to love reading, social studies, art, math, or another subject,” said Shirley Aamidor, interim dean. “We have many wonderful teachers in our community, and we are proud to recognize our graduates who have this important role and influence in children’s lives.”

The School of Education, along with the IU Kokomo Alumni Association, will honor recipients at a reception from 6 to 8 p.m. Thursday, March 9, in the Kelley Student Center. The event is free and open to the public in the Kelley Student Center, Room 130. RSVPs are due to Sharon Johnson at sclellan@iuk.edu, or 765-455-9286 by Friday, March 3.

Special guest for the event is Jitka Nelson, Indiana’s Teacher of the Year for 2017. Nelson is a high school English language arts, developmental reading, and English learner teacher in the Logansport Community Schools.

A selection committee chose the honorees from nominations submitted by school leaders and advisors. They include:

• Tiffani (Bonifant) Barnes, B.S. ’12, a social studies teacher at Taylor High School, Kokomo.
• Michelle Brown, B.S. ’02, a Title I reading teacher at Fairview Elementary School, Logansport.
• Carrie Kelly, B.S. ’09, a gifted and talented and STEM teacher at Maconaquah Elementary School, Bunker Hill.
• Tammy Paul, B.S. ’02, a social studies and language arts teacher at Rochester Middle School.
• Misti Sukle, B.S. ’02, an English and language arts at Central Middle International School, Kokomo.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana

Last updated: 02/24/2017