Go directly to main content

View more photos from the event

Annual service awards recognize nearly 600 years experience

January 26, 2017
KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo recently honored 35 faculty and staff members, with nearly 600 combined years of experience, for their service to the campus.

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke celebrates her 40 years at IU Kokomo this year. She began her career as an assistant professor of communication arts in 1977, and served in many leadership roles prior to becoming interim chancellor in 2012, and chancellor in 2014.

Terri Hellmann received honors for 35 years as a graphic designer on campus. She began her career as a part-time employee in the library, and worked her way into a full-time position in the Office of Media and Marketing.

“I love coming here and being part of the campus,” she said. “Once I started working here, it became like a home. I’ve made lots of friends.”

Lori Collins, academic advisor, and Jeff Gegner, Havens Auditorium manager, received accolades for 30 years. Twenty-five year honorees included Shirley Aamidor, Steve Cox, Nancy Greenwood, Henry Moore, David Rink, Dianne Roden, Linda Wallace, and Mary Zody.

Those commended for 20 years at IU Kokomo were Arlene Buell, Anthony Northington, and Karen Shaw. Polly Boruff-Jones, Dmitriy Chulkov, John Hughey, Scott Jones, and Jennifer Miller received recognition for serving 15 years.

Ten-year award recipients were Brenda DeMaggio, Christina Downey, Joshua Gottemoller, Meghan Greene, Linda Krause, Henry Lane, Andrew McFarland, Stacey Thomas, Jason VanAlstine, and Eva White. Those receiving five-year service awards included Donna Bevington, Kim Evans, Greg Parker, Amber Pyle, and Jerry Williams.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 01/26/2017