Go directly to main content

Nursing, allied health sciences, business students honored for academic success

May 6, 2016
KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo recognized academic excellence in the Division of Allied Health Sciences, School of Business, and School of Nursing, with induction into honor societies.

Eight nursing students were inducted into the Alpha chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society.

Inductees to Beta Gamma Sigma

View more photos from Nursing, Allied Health Sciences, and Business on Flickr.

Dean Linda Wallace said the honor society, founded at Indiana University, has a strong legacy of supporting nursing research, education, and practice, though grants, awards, and mentoring.

“Our inductees have met rigorous GPA standards in order to be accepted, with the expectation they will use their membership to benefit the organization, nursing, and most importantly, to improve health locally and globally,” she said.

New members include Leah Tranbarger, Elwood; Abbey Robison, John-Mark Stevens, and Laura Zabst, Kokomo; Meaghan Chinn, Lafayette; Katelyn Berman, Noblesville; Nicole Johnson, North Manchester; and Kelcy Leiding, Tipton.

The Division of Allied Health Sciences inducted 17 students into Lambda Nu honorary.

Heidi Sebastian, clinical assistant professor of radiographic sciences, said students in the Radiography and Medical Imaging Technology programs carry a full academic load, heavy in math and science and have 32 to 40 hours of clinical experiences each week, on top of personal and family obligations. Many also volunteered in their professional organizations, she said.

“These students have made a commitment not only to their chosen profession, but also their communities and IU Kokomo,” Sebastian said. “They are well-deserving of this honor bestowed upon them, as they continued to display professionalism.”

Students must have a minimum of a 3.30 grade-point average (GPA) and be a current member of the Indiana Society of Radiologic Technology and of the American Society of Radiologic Technology. Each one also must be an active member of the campus Medical Imaging Club.

Lambda Nu inductees included Marci Nagy, Amboy; Kristina Heeter, Anderson; Kris Murphy, Atlanta; Maria Finkbiner, Carmel; Kaylea Eli, Kirklin; Amanda Alexander, Kokomo; Bryanna Bowman, Logansport; Stephanie Shaffer, McCordsville, Lauren Fields and Brianna Saylor, Peru; Alyssa LaFave, Sharpsville; Lyndsay Davies, Sheridan; Ila Scott, Thorntown; Felicia Shenefield, Wabash; Mendy Hadley, Walton; Heidi Wells, Westfield; and Taylor Hess, Coldwater, Ohio;

The School of Business inducted 16 new members into Beta Gamma Sigma honorary. Undergraduates must be in the top 10 percent of their class to be inducted, while graduate students must be in the top 20 percent.

Linda Ficht, associate professor of business law, said Beta Gamma Sigma membership sets members apart from their peers.
“It is a way for future employers to know that the prospective employee graduated in the top of their business class,” she said. “It is the highest recognition that a business student in an Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) accredited school can receive.”

Faculty members inducted were Joung Yeon Kim, associate professor of accounting, and Yusuf Nur, associate professor of international business.

Graduate students inducted were Asim Alshaikhmubarek, Carmel; Essa Alabdrubalameer, Indianapolis; Shumok Aljarba, Abigail Banan, Gary Rogers, and Brittiny Weaver, Kokomo; and Nathan Kring, Tipton.
Undergraduate inductees were Joseph Cremer, Carmel; Melinda Burns, Denver; Bradley Cox, Frankfort; Emily Riddle, Elizabeth Vautaw, and Tyler Willhite, Kokomo; and Jennifer Martin, Monticello.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 05/09/2016