Go directly to main content

Students, alumni eligible for Law Scholars Program

January 26, 2016
KOKOMO, Ind. — The Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law has entered into an agreement with all five of IU’s regional campuses to create the Indiana University Regional Law Scholars program.

Alumni of and current students at IU Kokomo, Northwest, South Bend, East, and Southeast are eligible to apply. The first students in the program will begin law school in Fall 2016.

“I am very excited to collaborate in this way with the IU family,” said IU McKinney Dean Andrew R. Klein. “Our new program presents a wonderful opportunity for top undergraduate students and alumni from IU’s regional campuses to gain a world-class legal education while living in Indiana’s capital city.”

“This program offers an outstanding opportunity for students at IU regional campuses to pursue a legal career at an excellent law school,” said John S. Applegate, executive vice president for university academic affairs. “It is another fine example of ways that Indiana University serves the people of Indiana.”

Interested alumni and students from IU’s regional campuses must have completed an application to IU McKinney by March 1; the application fee will be waived. To be eligible for the program, the applicant must be accepted by IU McKinney and receive an admission offer from the law school. Each regional campus will nominate up to three people for the award. Regional campuses have until March 31 to nominate people for consideration into the program.

A total of three award recipients will be selected by April 15. The program offers a minimum of a renewable half-tuition scholarship, as well as guaranteed experiential learning opportunities or paid employment as a research assistant following completion of 31 law school credit hours.
Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke appreciates the opportunity.

“I look forward to IU Kokomo students earning this prestigious scholarship, as they earn their law degrees,” she said.

This brings the total number of colleges and universities the law school has created partnership agreements with to 10. The others are Marian University, Wabash College, Bradley University, Franklin College, the University of Southern Indiana, DePauw University, Albion College, Anderson University, and Butler University.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 01/26/2016