Go directly to main content

University applauds faculty for research, creative works

September 22, 2015
KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo applauded the accomplishments of its faculty during a Celebration of Scholarship reception, recognizing their research and creative works during the past year.

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke commended faculty for their hard work and dedication to higher education.

“I am proud of the accomplishments of our faculty. Students at IU Kokomo reap the benefits of these efforts, either by assisting them in undergraduate research or learning first-hand from these educators and researchers in the classroom,” Sciame-Giesecke said.

Research is an important part of growth in higher education. It offers a variety of results that can be applied in a classroom setting. The amount of research and publications that the faculty at IU Kokomo have taken part in is astounding, said Mark Canada, vice chancellor for academic affairs.

“The faculty here are an inspiration to myself and to others,” Canada said.

Faculty who were honored include:

Division of Allied Health Sciences: Angela Coppola, acting assistant professor of health sciences; David Hancock, assistant professor of health sciences; Diana Mishler, clinical assistant professor and coordinator of medical imaging technology, and Heidi Sebastian, clinical assistant professor of radiographic sciences.

Library: Yan He, information literacy librarian; Ria Lukes, technical services librarian; and Angie Thorpe, digital user experience librarian.

School of Business: Dmitry Chulkov, professor of economics and management information systems; Steve Cox, professor of finance; Josephine Dibie, visiting lecturer in business; Linda Ficht, associate professor of business law; J.Y. Kim, associate professor of accounting and management information systems; Mohammad Meybodi, professor of operations management; Yusuf Nur, associate professor of international business; David Rink, professor of marketing; Dianne Roden, professor of finance; Adam Smith, assistant professor of management; and Jason VanAlstine, associate professor of economics.

Department of Hospitality and Tourism: Heather Kennedy-Eden, assistant professor of hospitality and tourism.

Department of Public Administration and Health Management: Robert Dibie, professor of public policy, public management, and environmental studies; and Reynold Galope, visiting lecturer in public administration and health management.

School of Education: Christine Ivanova, future faculty fellow; Tara Kingsley, assistant professor of education; Lance Mason, assistant professor of education; and Julie Saam, associate professor of education.

School of Humanities and Social Sciences: Todd Bradley, associate professor of political science; Christina Downey, associate professor of psychology; Joe Keener, associate professor of English; Michael Koerner, assistant professor of new media; Ligaya McGovern, professor of sociology; Donna McLean, associate professor of communication arts; Joshua Mugg, visiting lecturer in philosophy; Gregory Steel, associate professor of fine arts; Niki Weller, assistant professor of sociology; and Eva White, professor of English.

School of Nursing: Lizann Atkin, lecturer of nursing; Mary Bourke, associate professor and assistant dean of M.S.N. program; Lesley Connolly, clinical liaison and adjunct faculty Angela Heckman, clinical associate professor; Amanda Leffler, lecturer of nursing; April Mouser, assistant professor and director of simulation center; Lynda Narwold, clinical professor and assistant dean of R.N. to B.S.N. track; Stacy Rosales, lecturer of nursing; Carolyn Townsend, assistant professor of nursing; Lucy Tormoehlen, assistant professor of nursing; Marlene Poe-Greskamp, lecturer of nursing; Sung Ja Whang, visiting lecturer; and Bridget Whitmore, clinical associate professor and assistant dean of pre-licensure B.S.N.

School of Sciences: Awny Alnusair, assistant professor of informatics; Michael Finkler, professor of physiology; Kasem Kasem, professor of chemistry; Hisako Masuda, assistant professor of biochemistry; J.C. Olsen, assistant professor of chemistry; and Lina Rifai, assistant professor of vertebrate biology and anatomy.

Story written by Kambren Stanley. Kambren is a student writer in the Office of Media & Marketing.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 09/23/2015