Go directly to main content

Incoming students receive merit scholarships, laptops

August 19, 2015
KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo demonstrates its commitment to academic excellence, awarding more than $280,000 in scholarships, laptops, and other benefits to its top incoming students.

Twenty-three students receive merit awards, as winners of the Direct Admit scholarship, Pre-Professional Program scholarships, Early Scholars Program, and the Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholar program.

Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke congratulated the students on earning the prestigious awards.

“We are excited that such high-caliber students made IU Kokomo their campus of choice,” she said. “We look forward to their leadership, and we are proud to recognize their achievements.”

Winners of the Early Scholars Program scholarships were Alexandria Dyer, Gas City; Ethan Dubbels, Kathryn Kaster, Emili Kessler, and Danielle Schultz, Kokomo; Hannah Bourne, Bunker Hill; Cody Howell, Sharpsville; Noah Kirk, Wabash; Colton Moore, Lafayette; Sidney Nall, Marion; Toria Piper, Peru; and Matthew Sattler, Elwood.

Direct Admit Scholarship recipients included Angelica Carter, Abigail Lefler, and Ashlin Triplett, Kokomo; Brooke Creech, Marion; Miranda Guyre, Swayzee; Allison Hopkins, Tipton; Ashley Hunt, Wabash; Konner Kakasuleff, Windfall; and Elizabeth Schapker, Wadesville.

Michael Miller, from Marion, received the Pre-professional Scholarship; and Alessandra Smith, Kokomo, is the Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholar.

The Early Scholars Program scholarships, which are $2,500 per year plus a laptop, are for students in the top 10 percent of their graduating class, who are admitted by November 15. These students also must earn an academic honors diploma and have a combined writing and critical thinking score of 1150 or higher on the SAT. It is renewable for those who maintain a 3.3 GPA and earn enough credits to progress to the next class level.

Direct Admit Scholarships are available to incoming students in nursing, education, and business. These students, who graduate in the top 10 percent of their classes and earn a minimum math and critical reading SAT score of 1150, are guaranteed admission to their academic program. They also receive a $2,500 per year scholarship, laptop and software, $1,000 stipend for overseas study, a faculty mentor, and a textbook credit.

Pre-professional scholarships recognize excellent academic performance for students who plan to enroll in a graduate or professional program, such as dental or medical school, after earning an undergraduate degree. It includes a $2,500 per year scholarship, a stipend for overseas travel, and research and mentoring opportunities with faculty.

The Adam W. Herbert Scholar program includes full tuition, a stipend for overseas travel, and other benefits.

For more information about IU Kokomo scholarships, contact the Office of Admissions, 765-455-9217, or iuk.edu/admissions.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 08/19/2015