Go directly to main content

Nursing, business, allied health students honored for achievements

May 11, 2015
KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo students in the School of Nursing, School of Business, and Division of Allied Health Sciences were recently inducted into honor societies, rewarding their academic excellence.

The School of Nursing inducted 14 seniors into Alpha Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society, in recognition of their academic achievement, leadership, and demonstrated professional ability.

The honor society was founded by IU nursing students in 1922, meaning those chosen join a proud heritage of nursing scholarship and service as members of Alpha Chapter, said Dean Linda Wallace.

“Selection for membership is Sigma Theta Tau Alpha Chapter sends a message to nurses and non-nurses like that this is a person who has already earned distinction, and is expected to accomplish great things in the future.”

Those inducted include Simegn Bitew, Avon; Kimberly Ware, Carmel; Teresa Butcher, Cutler; Prince Bravo, Greentown; Deidre McDaniel, Indianapolis; Ashleigh Ledford, Jenna Powell, and Erica Walter, Kokomo; Kathleen Pattee, Logansport; Brian Arwood, Peru; Mavis Mvundura, Plainfield; Holly Hayes, Westfield; and Trisha Booth and Kortni Dye, Windfall.

The School of Business inducted two faculty and seven students into Beta Gamma Sigma business honorary.

To be selected for the honorary, undergraduates must be in the top 10 percent of their class, while graduate students must be in the top 20 percent.

“Beta Gamma Sigma is a lifetime membership, which ranks its members among the best and brightest individuals in business,” said Linda Ficht, associate professor of business law. “Membership indicates to future employers that this graduate is well trained and capable of meeting the competitive demands commonly found in today’s challenging global market.”

She noted that only schools accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) can award Beta Gamma Sigma status, and fewer than five percent of the world’s 13,000 business programs have received AACSB accreditation.

Michael Tulley, assistant vice chancellor for academic affairs, and Alan Krabbenhoft, dean of the School of Business, were the faculty honorees.

Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) student James Geiger, Kokomo, was inducted for the second time, having previously been honored as an undergraduate. Other M.B.A. students inducted include Nicholas Barger, Cicero; Kazi Jami, Kokomo; Gabby VanAlstine, Noblesville; and John Gouveia, Wabash. Undergraduates inducted were Trevor Martin, Amboy; and Kristina Goodman, Kokomo.

School of Business alumni Megan Mathews-Wine, Converse; and Aaron True and Stephanie Fantuzzo, Kokomo, conducted the ceremony.

The Division of Allied Health inducted 14 students into Lamba Nu honorary, which recognizes academic excellence in the radiologic and imaging sciences.
Heidi Sebastian, clinical assistant professor of radiographic sciences, said Lambda Nu's objectives are to foster academic scholarship at the highest levels, to promote research and investigation in the radiologic and imaging sciences, and to recognize exemplary scholarship.
“Lambda Nu recognizes academic recognition for these outstanding students, while also providing a network of colleagues outside of IU Kokomo,” she said. “Our students consistently earn high grades, and place in the top 20 percent on national certification exams, so we are pleased to have this opportunity to honor their professional and academic achievements.”
Radiography students inducted were Kendra Wheeldon, Burnettsville; Allison Ostler, Frankfort; Josh Hansen, Galveston; Kelley Baer, Elizabeth Hubenthal, and Shelby Spall, Kokomo; Courtney Waymire, Tipton; Ashlee Rodgers, Walton; and Joanna Davis, Westfield.

Medical Imaging Technology students inducted were Amanda White, Alexandria; Danielle Guess, Bargersville; Sarah Ferguson and Kristen Moore, Kokomo; and Elizabeth Kronewitter, Lafayette.

To be considered for membership, students must have a minimum 3.30 grade point average and be a current member of the Indiana Society of Radiologic Technology and of the American Society of Radiologic Technology. Each one also must be an active member of the campus Medical Imaging Club.

To view photos from the three ceremonies, click Division of Allied Health, School of Business, or School of Nursing.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 05/11/2015