Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo faculty and staff honored for research, service

March 2, 2015
KOKOMO, Ind. — Research, community service, and years of service were recognized among faculty and staff at the annual Spring Convocation at Indiana University Kokomo.
Kasem Kasem, professor of chemistry, received the faculty research award for his exploration in renewable energy sources. JR Pico, senior lecturer in Spanish, was honored with the Virgil Hunt Service Award. Janine Stanley, technical services assistant in the IU Kokomo Library, was recognized for her 30 years of service on campus.
“Celebrating our faculty and staff for their outstanding work and service is always a joy. IU Kokomo has a talented team that is dedicated to the success of our students,” stated Chancellor Sciame-Giesecke.

This was the second research honor for Kasem, who was more than pleased to receive it after being promoted to full professor.

“For me, the title ‘professor’ comes with a commitment to maintain that title,” he said. “It also means the culture of research is promoted and honored at IU Kokomo, and inspires us to do our best work.”

Pico was “honored and humbled” to receive the Virgil Hunt Service Award, for his dedication to leading students in humanitarian efforts and for service to the campus and community.

“This is a great acknowledgement of how much we do here besides teaching our regular semester courses,” Pico said. “We do so much behind the scenes, and it takes so much time and effort, but we do it because we believe in what we do. There are many activities on our campus that are not mandatory, and not part of our job description. However, if we feel this sense of belonging and of giving back, then we are motivated to participate in as much as we can.”
Also, Sciame-Giesecke presented service awards to Stanley and several other faculty and staff members.
Donna McLean, Barbara Sehr, Cheryl Small, and David Hawkins were honored for 25 years of service. Vivian Chase, Robert Gardner, Chad Gillem, Susan Wilson, and Tara Scott received recognition for serving 20 years.
Those commended for 15 years at IU Kokomo were Kathryn Holcomb, Lucy Tormoehlen, Dawn Davis, Sandra Cavazos, and John Delaney. Ten-year service award recipients were Robert Dibie, Gregory Steel, Betty Hillman, Gail Daggett, Kathleen Mills, Candy Miller, Kimberly Haggard, Carrie Kinsey, and Craig Swoverland.
Those receiving five-year service awards were Cheryl Schlemmer, Kelli Keener, Angela Siders, Dana Larason, Bev Ringeisen, and Greg Ogle.
Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 03/02/2015