Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo inducts 28 future nurses to School of Nursing

January 8, 2015
KOKOMO, Ind. — Judith Alanis Guijosa takes the first steps to her dream career of becoming a nurse, when spring semester classes begin Monday (January 12) at Indiana University Kokomo.

Before the semester starts, the School of Nursing officially welcomed Alanis Guijosa and her 27 new classmates, in its annual induction ceremony. Faculty congratulated the newest students on their achievement in being admitted, and encouraged them to work hard preparing for their anticipated December 2017 graduation.

Dean Linda Wallace called the induction ceremony a kind of commencement, as it is the beginning of their careers in nursing, one of the most trusted professions available.

“When people know you are a nurse, they expect more from you,” she said. “The work we do is so important. Walking on the holy ground of people’s lives requires a singular attention. The world opens up to you if you stay focused.”

Marlene Poe-Greskamp, lecturer in nursing, also urged the students to work hard in their classes, recalling the words on her own nursing school admission letter when she was 17.

“Your career in nursing will be as satisfying as the effort you put into it,” she said. “It is a life-changing journey.”

It’s a journey Alanis Guijosa, from Frankfort, is both excited and nervous to begin.

“It’s a big opportunity, one I worked hard to earn,” she said.

Katee Pierce, from Fairmount, said she was thrilled to receive her acceptance packet during the fall semester, after completing her prerequisites.
“I am ready to get started,” she said.

Students inducted into the Class of December 2017 for the IU Kokomo School of Nursing include: Cayley Higginbotham and Heather Hunter, Cicero; Morgan Baxter, Delphi; Leeza Price, Elwood; Katee Pierce, Fairmount; Judith Alanis Guijosa, Frankfort; Christopher Osborne, Gas City; Chiamaka Emele, Oluebube Newman-Nwodika, Pamela Smith, and Alicia Sommers, Indianapolis; Mallory Eller, Kali Harrison, Lauren Horney, Haley Johnston, and Stephanie Plummer, Kokomo; Megan Vaughn and Kaitlin Wickersham, Logansport; Melissa Henderson, Marion; Tiffany Carr, Elizabeth Forsee, and Karastyn Shew, Noblesville; Coree Achor, Russiaville; Alisa Bowman, Sheridan; Austin Keen, Jared Kirtlan, and Reanna Staats, Wabash; and Alecia Carlson, Zionsville.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 01/09/2015