Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo awards more than $180,000 in scholarships to new students

August 26, 2014

KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo awarded scholarships, laptops, and other benefits worth more than $180,000 to its top incoming students, demonstrating its commitment to academic excellence.

Laptop Recipients 2014Students receive laptops as part of scholarshipFourteen students received the merit awards, as winners of the Early Scholars Program scholarships, Direct Admit Program scholarship, Pre-Professional Program scholarships, and the Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholar program.

The students received their laptops from Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke, who congratulated them for earning the merit awards.

“These scholarships affirm what you did in high school, and how hard you worked,” she said. “Now, I challenge you to see how you can lead on our campus. You can be anything you want to be here. We encourage you to step outside the box and try something new.”

Winners of the Direct Admit Program scholarships included Joshua Dugdale and Michaela Walters, Kokomo; and Hannah Robbins, Greentown.

Early Scholars Program recipients included Erica Abbott, Rochester; David Boone, Denver; Alan Dixon, Whitney Hicks, Nicholas Moody, Craig Simon, and Taryn Thor, Kokomo; and Jessica Monnot, Peru.

Mary Elmasry earned a pre-professional scholarship.  

Lillian Badger, Tipton; and Whitley Lehr, Delphi; are the campus's Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholars.

Direct admit scholarships are offered to incoming students in business, education, and nursing. To qualify, students must graduate in the top 10 percent of their class, and earn a minimum math and critical reading SAT combined score of 1150. Qualifying students are guaranteed admission to their academic program, and also receive a $2,500 per year scholarship, laptop and software, $1,000 stipend for overseas travel, a faculty mentor, and a textbook credit.

The Early Scholars Program scholarships, which are $2,500 per year plus a laptop, are for students in the top 10 percent of their class who are admitted to IU Kokomo by November 15. They must also earn an academic honors diploma and have a combined writing and critical thinking SAT score of 1150 or higher. It is renewable for those who maintain a 3.3 GPA and earn enough credits to progress to the next class level.

The pre-professional scholarships reward excellent academic performance for students who plan to continue to a graduate or professional program, like medical or dental school. It is worth $2,500 per year, and also includes a stipend for overseas travel, and research and mentoring opportunities with faculty.

The Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholar program includes full tuition, a stipend for overseas travel, and other benefits.

For more information about scholarship opportunities, contact the Office of Admissions, 765-455-9217, or go to www.iuk.edu/admissions.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 09/16/2014