Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo hosts 50th annual Howard County Science Fair; faculty judge entries

February 21, 2014
KOKOMO, Ind. — Indiana University Kokomo was host to the 50th annual Howard County Science fair, with faculty members volunteering as judges, and also teaching enrichment workshops for more than 80 young scientists.

Howard County Science FairHoward County Science Fair, see more pictures on Flickr.

The fair has been an annual event on campus for more than 10 years. Marcia Gillette, senior lecturer in chemistry, recognized the benefits students gain from completing science fair project, and brought it to IU Kokomo, in partnership with Haynes International.

Interim Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke, a long-time supporter of the science fair, welcomed students and their parents to the event.

In addition to exhibiting projects, students attended sessions with School of Sciences faculty. Leda Casey, lecturer in geology, presented a geology workshop. Patrick Motl, assistant professor of physics, taught about astronomy, and Ashley Duffitt, biology lab supervisor, led a workshop on pond microbiology. All three also were judges.

Faculty judges included Denise Chauret, adjunct faculty; Sara Deyo, chemistry lab supervisor; Michael Finkler, professor of physiology; Marcia Gillette, senior lecturer in chemistry; Joshua Gottemoller, senior lecturer of mathematics; Diane Hampshire, lecturer of mathematics; Kasem Kasem, professor of chemistry; Carrie Kinsey, biology lab supervisor; Linda Krause, senior lecturer in mathematics; Diana Mishler, clinical assistant professor and coordinator of medical imaging technology; and T.J. Sullivan, assistant professor of biology and molecular energy.

Megan Hedges, from Eastern High School, earned the top senior division prize of $1,000 for her exhibit, "Manipulating flames with alternating current." Her teacher, Ben Cox, received the traveling trophy awarded to the teacher of the first place senior division exhibitor.

Twenty-nine high school students participated in the senior division. Other award winners were: Rachel Johns, Northwestern High School, second place, $700; Lauren Ward, Northwestern High School, third place, $500; Elizabeth Bolyard, Northwestern High School, fourth place, $400; Heather Wright, Eastern High School, fifth place, $300; Teng Lee, Kokomo High School, sixth place, $250; Sharlene Lossing, Northwestern High School, seventh place, $200; Aaron Stanley, Northwestern High School, eighth place, $150; Alexander Jones, Northwestern High School, ninth place, $100; and Michael Embry, Kokomo Area Schools at Home, 10th place, $50.

Fifty-five elementary and middle school students participated in the junior division competition. The top five, in alphabetical order, are Kayla Bevington, Northwestern; Delaney Poer, Eastern; Addison Ream, Eastern; Amanda Wilson, Northwestern, and Tyler Wilson, Northwestern. Each received $100.

The rest of the top 10 in the junior division, in alphabetical order, were Allison Fenske, Kokomo Area Schools at Home; David Hoshaw, Acacia Academy; Megan Johnson, Eastern; Lauren Longshore, Northwestern, and Erin Matheney, Eastern. Each received $50.

Additional science fair contributors include Mark and Janet Comerford, Bucheri McCarty & Metz LLP, Erik's Chevrolet, Newlon Metals Inc., Rotary Club of Kokomo, Stan and Jody Ortman, The Windmill Grill, The Wyman Group, Charles and Sandy Sponaugle, Emily Bargerhuff, Marcia and Bob Gillette, Interim Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke, the IU Kokomo School of Sciences faculty, staff, and students, and IU Kokomo Physical Plant staff.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 09/11/2014