Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo dean honored for lifetime of giving, with induction into the prestigious Presidents Circle

October 25, 2013
KOKOMO, Ind. — Erv and Priscilla Boschmann lead by example, modeling the spirit of giving they encourage others to follow.

iuf_Boschmann2013_001IU President Michael McRobbie (left), and IU Foundation President Dan Smith (right), present Erv and Priscilla Boschmann (center) with the Presidents Circle Award.

Their generosity to Indiana University was recently recognized with induction into its most prestigious donor recognition society, the Presidents Circle, which honors those whose lifetime giving has reached $100,000.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie and IU Foundation President Dan Smith presided over the ceremony, honoring 183 individuals.

Erv Boschmann, who is interim dean of the IU Kokomo School of Business, said he and his wife both grew up with parents who were role models for giving. Now, they try to share that lesson with those who receive the scholarships they've established.

"When talking with the recipients, it gives us a wonderful feeling that the future is in good hands, and we can continue to believe in the future of the world," he said. "Not only are they open to the idea of they themselves also giving, but we find many already do that in some form or another. We ask them to consider becoming givers themselves, whether it is in the form of volunteering or donating items, but we encourage them to eventually consider giving money, even in small amounts."

At IU Kokomo, the Boschmanns established the Selzer Student Scholarship for International Study, for students who want to study overseas. They named the scholarship for Priscilla Boschmann's parents, in keeping with their wish that their own names not be on any of their scholarships.

Interim Chancellor Susan Sciame-Giesecke called Boschmann "a true servant leader" for his generosity.

"He has dedicated his career to enhancing the success of faculty, staff, and students," she said. "We are so grateful to Erv and Priscilla for establishing the Selzer Student Scholarship for International Travel. In the years to come, many students will benefit from this life changing experience, because of their generosity."

They also established a scholarship for chemistry students at Indiana University — Purdue University Indianapolis, and created a faculty summer fellowship at IU East.

Erv Boschmann has had a distinguished career with IU since joining the faculty at IUPUI in 1968. He was a professor of chemistry, then associate dean of facilities. In 1998, he was named IU associate vice president for distributed education. He has also served as provost at IU East.

As Presidents Circle members, the Boschmanns received a personalized medallion cast with a portion of the original carillon bells that once rang in the IU Bloomington Student Building. Their names were also added to the honor wall in the Indiana Memorial Union.

Established in 1992, the Presidents Circle is named for Indiana University presidents, from first president Andrew Wylie to current president Michael A. McRobbie.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 09/09/2014