Go directly to main content

Nursing faculty honored for leadership, community service

April 30, 2013

KOKOMO, Ind. — Three Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing assistant deans will be honored for service to the university and community.

Lynda Narwold and Bridget WhitmoreLynda Narwold and Bridget WhitmoreThe IU School of Nursing chose Lynda Narwold and Bridget Whitmore as recipients of the Lillian Yeager Distinguished Public Service Award, in honor of their work with Camp Eeze-the-Wheeze/KIDDs Camp. The annual camp for children with asthma or diabetes has positively impacted the lives of nearly 400 Kokomo-area children during the last 17 years.

Mary Bourke will receive the Elizabeth Lion University Service Award, given for making significant contributions to the university. Bourke, led curriculum development for the Master of Science in Nursing program at IU Kokomo. She also was recently selected for the American Association of Colleges of Nursing's Leadership for Academic Nursing fellowship.

All three will receive their awards at the IU Schools of Nursing Culbertson awards luncheon. They were chosen from nominees from all eight campuses.

Dean Linda Wallace said the recognition is well deserved.

Associate professor and tenure Mary BourkeMary Bourke

"Lynda Narwold and Bridget Whitmore have provided a wonderful service to the children of our community, as well as a valuable educational experience for our students. I cannot think of two individuals more worthy of this award," she said. "Mary Bourke has served as a mentor to other faculty, particularly in curriculum development, evaluation and research. She has benefitted students by improving learning and outcomes, helping with grant writing, and providing services by students to the community.

She also noted that Sylvia Mason, assistant to the dean, was re-elected secretary of Business Officers of Schools of Nursing, which is part of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

Bourke called the nomination "an honor and a privilege," because a committee of her peers made the selections.

"We have an incredible team in the School of Nursing, and I am so fortunate to be part of our culture of excellence."

Narwold, assistant dean for the R.N. to B.S.N. program, said her award is "a tremendous honor," because of her connection with the late Lillian Yeager, a former colleague who served as dean at IU Southeast.

"I was privileged to know Lillian when I first started teaching in the School of Nursing," she said. "Her commitment to the university and her community was inspiring. I can only hope to have half the impact she had in her lifetime."

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.

Last updated: 09/02/2014