Go directly to main content

IU Kokomo names top scholar

May 27, 2011

KOKOMO, Ind. –Indiana University Kokomo named Maconaquah High School senior Anyssa Ryan the Herbert Presidential Scholar for the 2011-2012 academic year, awarding her a full four-year tuition and fee scholarship worth $24,000.anyssa_ryanAnyssa Ryan

Ryan plans to major in nursing.

“It’s all still kind of surreal to me,” said Ryan with a laugh. “I decided to apply at IU Kokomo because it is very close to home and has a good nursing program. I knew I wanted to go into the medical field, but wasn’t quite sure I wanted to major in nursing until last year. I know there will be challenges, but I’m really looking forward to starting classes in the fall.”

Ryan, the daughter of Thomas Ryan of Kokomo and Rebecca Ryan of Peru, is ranked fourth in her class and currently has a grade point average greater than 12.0 on Maconaquah’s 12.0 grading system. She is active with the school’s Superbowl and has competed on the school’s softball team.

“It’s just a wonderful gift,” said Ryan’s mother, Rebecca. “I couldn’t be more proud or thrilled for her and to know she has an opportunity to earn an IU diploma nearby. It’s a blessing.”

Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan Sciame-Giesecke congratulates Ryan for her achievements and looks forward to having her on campus.

“It is always a great pleasure to award this scholarship to a top student, and Anyssa has proven her academic abilities throughout her high school career,” Sciame-Giesecke said. “I have no doubt she will be very successful at IU Kokomo.”

Maconaquah High School Principal David Noonan said Ryan has been an exceptional student.

“Anyssa always does a great job academically and in any extra-curricular activities she participates in,” Noonan said. “She is the second Maconaquah student to win the scholarship within three years, which is a testament to our teaching faculty and the courses we offer here.”

In 2009, Maconaquah student Andrew Jones was named the Herbert Presidential Scholar.

Criteria for selection include class rank, grade point average, SAT I or ACT test scores and strength of high school curriculum. Also considered are each student’s record of activities and leadership positions, record of community service, personal statement and a recommendation from a high school teacher, guidance counselor or community member.

The program was created by President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert during his tenure at IU (2003-2007) and is considered one of the most prestigious scholarships offered to IU students. Originally called the Hoosier Presidential Scholars Program, it was renamed the Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholarship by the IU Board of Trustees in 2007 to honor Herbert and his commitment to talented Hoosiers.

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana
Last updated: 08/12/2014